ABS-FR FILAMENT

ACRYLNITRIL-BUTADIEN-STYROL FIRE RETARDANT

FR stands for Fire Resistant and this 3D printing filament is a further development of the high-quality, amorphous, thermoplastic ABS. ABS-FR is not only a fire-retardant but a flame-retardant filament that is used wherever sparks can occur or where fire regulations are to be observed.


In this way, not only prototypes, but also 100% functional parts can also be produced for this difficult area. Whether in special machine or aircraft construction, but also for housings of transformers, switches, air conditioning systems and electronic components, ABS-FR is an ideal filament. ABS-FR is even used in facade construction for the production of brackets in order to comply with fire regulations.


Processing parameters:

Extrusion temperature: 240 – 260 °C
Platform temperature: 90 °C – 110 °C
Printing surface: Kapton
Pre-drying: 80 °C / 2 – 4 h

ABS-FR is a modified version of ABS. Additives have been added to the plastic to achieve a flame-retardant effect.

Since these additives only affect a small proportion of the material properties, the same measures still apply as for the 3D printing of ABS. A closed installation space and active control of the installation space temperature are a prerequisite for avoiding stress cracks caused by "warping" and for achieving consistent results.

A small percentage of the additives added to the plastic are released into the air during the 3D printing of ABS-FR. These not only smell very pungent, but are also harmful to health. Therefore, ABS-FR should only be used in industrial environments with appropriate personal protective equipment, even when using a filter.

Continue to EL-11 Continue to EL102
Post-Processing

A wide range of post-processing methods is available for ABS. The plastic can be welded, glued, screwed directly or with an inset, as well as machined.

Since ABS adheres well to HIPS, support structures can be created using 2-component printing, which can be removed using Limonsol after the printing is complete. In this way, internal cavities and recesses can also be created in the parts to be manufactured.

Solubility / Persistence

ABS-FR is resistant to diluted acids, diluted alkalis and oils and can be dissolved in esters and ketones (especially acetone).

Areas of application

In general, the operating temperature of ABS is between -20 and 95 ° C.

ABS-FR is not just a fire-retardant, but a flame-retardant filament that is used wherever sparks are used or where fire regulations must be observed.

In this way, not only prototypes, but also 100% functional parts can also be produced for this difficult area. Whether in special machine or aircraft construction, but also for housings of transformers, switches, air conditioning systems and electronic components, ABS-FR is an ideal filament.

Do you need more information? We are happy to help.

ABS-FR

ABS-FR Filament

ABS-FR Filament

ACRYLNITRIL-BUTADIEN-STYROL FIRE RETARDANT

FR steht für Fire Resistent und dieses 3D-Druck Filament stellt eine Weiterentwicklung des hochwertigen, amorphen, thermoplastischen Kunststoff ABS dar. ABS-FR ist nicht nur ein brandhemmendes sondern ein schwer entflammbares Filament, das überall dort zur Anwendung kommt, wo mit Funken „gearbeitet“ wird bzw. wo Brandvorschriften einzuhalten sind.

So können nicht nur Prototypen, sondern bereits zu 100% funktionelle Teile auch für diesen schwierigen Bereich hergestellt werden. Sei es im Sondermaschinen- oder Flugzeugbau, aber auch für Gehäuse von Transformatoren, Schalter, Klimaanlagen und elektronischen Komponenten ist ABS-FR ein bestens geeignetes Filament.  Sogar im Fassadenbau wird ABS-FR für die Herstellung von Halterungen eingesetzt, um den Brandvorschriften zu entsprechen.

Verarbeitungsparameter:

Extrusionstemperatur:220 – 260 °C
Plattformtemperatur:90 °C – 100 °C
Druckoberfläche:Kapton
Vortrocknen:80°C / 2 – 4 h

Bei ABS-FR handelt es sich um eine modifizierte Version von ABS. Dem Kunststoff wurden Additive beigemengt um eine flammhemmende Wirkung zu erzielen.

Da diese Additive nur einen geringen Anteil der Materialbeschaffenheit handelt gelten noch immer die gleichen Maßnahmen wie für das 3D-Drucken von ABS. Ein geschlossener Bauraum und eine aktive Regelung der Bauraumtemperatur sind Voraussetzung um Spannungsrisse durch „Warping“ zu vermeiden und konsistente Ergebnisse zu erzielen.

Ein kleiner Prozentsatz der dem Kunststoff zugesetzten Additive gelangt beim 3D-Drucken von ABS-FR an die Luft. Diese riechen nicht nur sehr stechend, sondern sind auch gesundheitsschädlich. Daher sollte ABS-FR, auch bei Verwendung eines Filters, nur in industriellen Umgebungen, mit entsprechender persönlicher Schutzausrüstung, verarbeitet werden.

Allgemeines

Löslichkeit/Beständigkeit

ABS-FR ist beständig gegen verdünnte Säuren, verdünnte Laugen und Öle und kann in Estern und Ketonen (besonders Aceton) gelöst werden.

Post-Processing

Für ABS steht eine breite Palette an Post-Processing Methoden zur Verfügung. Der Kunststoff kann geschweißt, geklebt, direkt oder mit Inset geschraubt sowie spanend bearbeitet werden.

Da ABS gut auf HIPS haftet lassen sich, mittels 2-Komponenten-Druck, Stützstrukturen erstellen, die nach Abschluss des Drucks mittels Limonsol gelöst werden können. Auf diese Weise lassen sich auch innen liegende Hohlräume und Aussparungen in den zu fertigenden Teilen realisieren.

 

Einsatzbereiche

Generell liegt die Einsatztemperatur von ABS zwischen -20 und 95°C.

ABS-FR ist nicht nur ein brandhemmendes, sondern ein schwer entflammbares Filament, das überall dort zur Anwendung kommt, wo mit Funken „gearbeitet“ wird bzw. wo Brandvorschriften einzuhalten sind.

So können nicht nur Prototypen, sondern bereits zu 100% funktionelle Teile auch für diesen schwierigen Bereich hergestellt werden. Sei es im Sondermaschinen- oder Flugzeugbau, aber auch für Gehäuse von Transformatoren, Schalter, Klimaanlagen und elektronischen Komponenten ist ABS-FR ein bestens geeignetes Filament.


Sie benötigen mehr Informationen? Wir beraten Sie gerne.