PET FILAMENT

POLYETHYLENTEREPHTHALAT

PET is a thermoplastic from the polyester family and one of the most important thermoplastics due to the amount produced. The PETG filament is a modified version of PET and is also known as co-polyester. This improvement, which is necessary for 3D printing, is achieved by adding a second glycol. This makes it more durable, more impact-resistant and does not become brittle and fragile even through regular heating.

The PETG filament is very thermally deformable. Both the print image and the layer adhesion are very good. Elements printed from PETG can even be sterilized and are therefore also used in medical technology. In addition to its high resistance and optimal mechanical properties, PETG is chemical-resistant, flame-retardant and certified as a food-safe polymer. It is therefore used both for processing and for packaging food, but also in the pharmaceutical sector. In addition, this material is 100% recyclable. PETG is even said to combine the advantages of ABS (temperature resistance, durability and strength) and PLA (easy to use) in one filament.

Processing parameters:

Extrusion temperature: 215 °C
Platform temperature: 60 °C – 80 °C
Printing surface: Kapton

As a rule, the PET filament is the glycol-modified variant, PETG. The added glycol molecule prevents the otherwise "partially crystalline" plastic from crystallizing. This makes it more ductile and allows it to be processed at a lower temperature. In this way, transparent filaments can also be produced.

PETG is tougher than most other filaments and tends to draw thin threads, so-called “angel hair”, after it has been removed. To avoid this effect, it is advisable to increase the "Retraction Distance", and the "X / Y Axis Movement Speed" should be increased in order to tear off these threads as soon as they are stopped.


Continue to EL-11 Continue to EL102
Post-Processing

PETG can be welded and screwed with or without an “inset”. Due to its high chemical resistance, PETG can only be glued with urethane-based and cyanoacrylate-based (super glue) adhesives. When machining, it must be ensured that the workpiece does not heat up too much, as otherwise the tool can stick together with melted plastic and damage the component.

Due to its chemical resistance, PETG cannot be painted or varnished, therefore components that are to have a certain color should be made directly with filaments of this color.

Solubility / Persistence

Resistant to weak acids, alkaline solutions, oils, fats, aliphatic and aromatic hydrocarbons and carbon tetrachloride.

It is not resistant to strong acids and alkaline solutions, phenol and long-term use in hot water above 70 ° C.

Areas of application:         

The maximum operating temperature of PETG is 70 ° C

PETG combines the ease of use of PLA with almost equally good mechanical and thermal properties as ABS. In addition, PETG is chemical-resistant, food-safe and flame-retardant. Due to the possibility of sterilizing elements printed from PETG, these are also used in medical technology.

In addition, PETG is often used to produce demonstration objects, for example in architecture, since the good thermal deformability, the good layer adhesion and the good optical properties of the material simplify the production of aesthetically pleasing prototypes.

Since the "polymer chains" are hardly damaged by repeated melting (within reasonable temperatures) and mechanical shredding of PETG, the plastic is 100% recyclable.

Do you need more information? We are happy to help.

PET

PET

PET Filament

POLYETHYLENTEREPHTHALAT

PET ist ein thermoplastischer Kunststoff aus der Familie der Polyester und aufgrund der produzierten Menge einer der bedeutendsten Thermoplaste. Das PETG Filament ist eine modifizierte Version von PET und wird auch als Co-Polyester bezeichnet. Diese, für den 3D-Druck notwendige Verbesserung wird durch die Zugabe eines zweiten Glycols erreicht. So ist es haltbarer, schlagfester und wird auch durch regelmäßiges Erhitzen nicht spröde und brüchig.

Das PETG Filament ist sehr gut thermisch verformbar. Sowohl Druckbild als auch Layerhaftung sind sehr gut. Aus PETG gedruckte Elemente können sogar sterilisiert werden und finden daher auch in der Medizintechnik ihren Einsatz. Neben der hohen Widerstandsfähigkeit und den optimalen mechanischen Eigenschaften ist PETG chemikalienbeständig, schwer entflammbar und als lebensmittelechtes Polymer zertifiziert.   Daher wird es sowohl für die Verarbeitung als auch für die Verpackung von Lebensmitteln aber auch im Pharmaziebereich eingesetzt. Zudem ist dieses Material zu 100% recycelbar. PETG wird sogar nachgesagt, die Vorteile von ABS (Temperaturbeständigkeit, Haltbarkeit und Stärke) und PLA (leicht anwendbar) in einem Filament zu vereinen.

Verarbeitungsparameter:

Extrusionstemperatur:215 °C
Plattformtemperatur:60 °C – 80 °C
Druckoberfläche:Kapton

Beit PET-Filament handelt es sich in der Regel um, die mit Glycol modifizierte Variante, PETG. Das zugesetzte Glycolmolekül verhindert das Kristallisieren des sonst „teilkristallinen“ Kunststoffes. Wodurch dieser duktiler wird und sich bei geringerer Temperatur verarbeiten lässt. Auf diese weise können auch transparente Filamente hergestellt werden.

PETG ist zäher als die meisten anderen Fiamente und neigt dazu nach dem Absetzen dünne Fäden, sogenanntes „Angelhair“, nachzuziehen. Um diesen Effekt zu vermeiden empfiehlt es sich die „Retraction Distance“ zu erhöhen, außerdem sollte die „X/Y Axis Movement Speed“ erhöht werden, um diese Fäden gleich beim Absetzen abzureißen.

Allgemeines

Löslichkeit/Beständigkeit

Beständig gegen schwache Säuren, alkalische Lösungen, Öle, Fette, aliphatische und aromatische Kohlenwasserstoffe und Tetrachlorkohlenstoff.

Es ist nicht beständig gegen starke Säuren und alkalische Lösungen, Phenol und bei langem Einsatz in heißem Wasser oberhalb 70 °C.

 

Post-Processing

PETG kann geschweißt und mit oder ohne „Inset“ geschraubt werden. Aufgrund der hohen chemischen Beständigkeit ist das Kleben von PETG nur mit urethanbasierten und cyanacrylatbasierten (Superkleber) Klebern möglich. Bei spanender Bearbeitung muss darauf geachtet werden, dass sich das Werkstück nicht zu stark erwärmt, da sonst das Werkzeug durch geschmolzenen Kunststoff verkleben und das Bauteil beschädigen kann.

PETG kann, aufgrund der Chemikalienbeständigkeit nicht bemalt oder lackiert werden, daher sollten Bauteile die eine bestimmte Farbe haben sollen direkt mit Filamenten dieser Farbe gefertigt werden.

 

Einsatzbereiche

Die maximale Einsatztemperatur von PETG beträgt 70 °C

PETG vereint die einfache Anwendung von PLA mit annähernd gleich guten mechanischen und thermischen Eigenschaften wie ABS. Darüber hinaus ist PETG chemikalienbeständig, lebensmittelecht und schwer entflammbar. Aufgrund der Möglichkeit aus PETG gedruckte Elemente zu sterilisieren finden diese auch in der Medizintechnik ihren Einsatz.

Außerdem wird PETG gerne eingesetzt um Anschauungsobjekte, etwa in der Architektur, zu fertigen, da die gute thermische Verformbarkeit, die gute Schichthaftung und die guten optischen Eigenschaften des Materials die Fertigung ästhetisch ansprechender Prototypen vereinfacht.

Da auch durch mehrfaches Aufschmelzen (innerhalb sinnvoller Temperaturen) und mechanisches Zerkleinern von PETG die „Polymerketten“ kaum Schaden davontragen ist der Kunststoff zu 100% recyclebar.


Sie benötigen mehr Informationen? Wir beraten Sie gerne.