PPS FILAMENT

POLYPHENYLENSULFID

PPS (polyphenylene sulfide) is a heat-resistant 3D printing filament and is rightly called high-performance plastic. This semi-crystalline plastic is characterized by its special resistance and the highest temperature resistance of all thermoplastics. Its mechanical properties, such as Dimensional stability, are retained even with continuous use at high temperatures of 200 degrees. Its chemical resistance to almost all solvents, many acids and alkalis is also impressive. In addition, polyphenylene sulfides are highly impermeable to liquids and gases and are characterized by their low water absorption and tendency to creep.


Due to its high dielectric strength, the PPS filament is ideally suited as an insulator. The impressive properties of PPS allow a very versatile use in 3D printing. In the electronics and vehicle sectors in particular, PPS and additive manufacturing are used to manufacture molded parts that have to withstand the highest mechanical, electrical, thermal and chemical loads.

Processing parameters:

Extrusion temperature: 335 °C
Platform temperature: 120 °C
Printing surface: Kapton

Since PPS is a semi-crystalline plastic and both the processing temperature and the glass transition temperature (90 ° C) are very high, a closed and heated installation space with active temperature control is essential for a stable production process.


When processing PPS, stresses form inside the component during the printing process, even when the installation space is heated, which is why the component's adhesion to the printing platform is an important process parameter. It has also been shown that these tensions can become so strong that thin permanent printing plates, for example made of carbon fiber or aluminum, deform during printing, so the construction platform should be dimensioned accordingly.

Continue to EL-11 Continue to EL102
Post-Processing

PPS can be machined and screwed with and without an "inset". Due to the chemical resistance, adhesive connections with solvent-based adhesives are not possible, but connections using 2-component epoxy resin or polyurethane adhesives are possible. [1]

In order to paint PPS components, the surface must be treated, for example by flame treatment or a primer based on polyurethane. [1]

Solubility / Persistence

PPS is dimensionally stable up to 200 ° C and also resistant to almost all solvents, many acids and alkalis. Due to the great variety in this area, the resistance of the material must be clarified as required.

Areas of application

Due to its high temperature resistance, PPS is suitable for permanent high-temperature applications under high mechanical stress, for example as a 3D-printed lamination form for multiple use in autoclaves at high temperatures and pressures.

Thanks to its excellent chemical resistance, PPS can be sterilized without any problems, which makes it ideal for applications in the medical sector.

PPS is naturally flame-resistant and, from a thickness of 0.4 mm, achieves the classification V0 according to UL 94. (The flame goes out after 10s, glowing after max. 30s, no flaming droplets)

Do you need more information? We are happy to help.

PPS

PPS

PPS Filament

POLYPHENYLENSULFID

PPS (Polyphenylensulfid) ist ein hitzebeständiges 3D-Druck Filament und wird zu Recht auch Hochleistungskunststoff genannt. Dieser teilkristalline Kunststoff zeichnet sich durch seine besondere Widerstandsfähigkeit und die höchste Temperaturbeständigkeit unter allen thermoplastischer Kunststoffe aus. Seine mechanischen Eigenschaften, wie z.B. Formstabilität, bleiben auch bei Dauereinsätzen bei Hochtemperaturen von 200 Grad erhalten.   Beeindruckend ist auch seine chemische Beständigkeit gegenüber nahezu allen Lösungsmitteln, vielen Säuren und Laugen. Zudem sind Polyphenylensulfide hochgradig undurchlässig gegenüber Flüssigkeiten und Gasen und zeichnen sich durch ihre geringe Wasseraufnahme und Kriechneigung aus.

Aufgrund seiner hohen elektrischen Durchschlagsfestigkeit ist das PPS Filament ideal als Isolator geeignet.   Die beeindruckenden Eigenschaften von PPS erlauben einen sehr vielseitigen Einsatz im 3D-Druck. Gerade im Elektronik- und Fahrzeugsektor werden mithilfe von PPS und der additiven Fertigung Formteile hergestellt, die höchsten mechanischen, elektrischen, thermischen und chemischen Beanspruchungen standhalten müssen.

Verarbeitungsparameter:

Extrusionstemperatur:335 °C
Plattformtemperatur:120 °C
Druckoberfläche:Kapton

 

Da es sich bei PPS um einen teilkristallinen Kunststoff handelt und sowohl die Verarbeitungs- als auch die Glasübergangstemperatur (90 °C) sehr hoch sind ist ein geschlossener und beheizter Bauraum, mit aktiver Temperaturregelung, für einen stabilen Fertigungsprozess unerlässlich.

Bei der Verarbeitung von PPS bilden sich während des Druckprozesses, auch mit beheiztem Bauraum, Spannungen im inneren des Bauteils, weshalb die Haftung des Bauteils auf der Druckplattform einen wichtigen Prozessparameter darstellt. Außerdem hat sich gezeigt, dass diese Spannungen so stark werden könne, dass sich dünne Dauerdruckplatten, etwa aus Carbonfaser oder Aluminium, während des Druckens verformen, die Bauplattform sollte also entsprechend dimensioniert sein.

Allgemeines

Löslichkeit/Beständigkeit

PPS ist formstabil bis 200° C und zudem gegenüber nahezu allen Lösemitteln, vielen Säuren und Laugen beständig. Aufgrund der großen Vielfalt in diesem Bereich muss die Beständigkeit des Materials nach Bedarf abgeklärt werden.

Post-Processing

PPS kann mechanisch bearbeitet und mit und ohne „Inset“ geschraubt werden. Aufgrund der chemischen Beständigkeit sind Klebeverbindungen mit Lösemittelklebstoffen nicht möglich, jedoch sind Verbindungen mittels 2-Komponenten Epoxidharz oder Polyurethanklebern möglich. [1]

Um PPS Bauteile zu lackieren ist eine Behandlung der Oberfläche etwa durch Beflammen oder eine Grundierung auf Polyurethanbasis notwendig.[1]

 

Einsatzbereiche

Aufgrund seiner hohen Temperaturbeständigkeit eignet sich PPS für dauerhafte Hochtemperaturanwendungen unter hohen mechanischen Beanspruchungen, etwa als 3D-gedruckte Laminierform zur mehrfachen Verwendung in Autoklaven bei hohen Temperaturen und Drücken.

Dank der herausragenden Chemikalienbeständigkeit kann PPS problemlos sterilisiert werden, was es ideal für Anwendungen im Medizinbereich macht.

PPS ist von Natur aus flammbeständig und erreicht ab einer Dicke von 0,4mm die Einstufung V0 nach UL 94. (Verlöschen der Flamme nach 10s, max. 30s nachglimmen, kein brennendes Abtropfen)


Sie benötigen mehr Informationen? Wir beraten Sie gerne.