Rapid Prototyping


 

Rapid prototyping

 

 

What is rapid prototyping?

Rapid prototyping (RP) refers to various methods for the rapid production of prototypes. Quickly fabricating models makes it possible to produce physical models in a short time. The models are assembled using three-dimensional CAD (Computer Aided Design) data. Rapid prototyping is used in a wide variety of industries. Either to accelerate the product development process, to test preliminary results or to visualize initial ideas. Furthermore, rapid prototyping also provides more security for the transition to series production.

 

Advantages of rapid prototyping

  • Fast production
  • Effective presentation of ideas
  • More flexibility and faster customization
  • Save cost and time in product development
  • Immediate formal and function testing
  • Faster processing and implementation of improvements
  • Shortening of product development and time to market

 

 

 

How does rapid prototyping work?

There are several rapid prototyping methods. The fastest and most cost-effective prototype production is made possible by 3D printing. This is an additive manufacturing technology. The component is manufactured by applying the material layer by layer.

CAD (Computer Aided Design) or 3D programming software is used as a basis for prototype production. The data are read by the 3D printer and transferred to the component. Layers of liquid powder or sheet material are placed on top of each other and the model is built up layer by layer. The layers are automatically connected and the prototype is created.

This fast process leads to enormous cost and time savings throughout the manufacturing process. Prototypes are also available quickly. The time can vary depending on the size and number of models, though prototypes can usually be fabricated in just a few hours. This process not only allows prototypes to be produced; components for series production or spare parts are manufactured in certain industries too.

 

 

Known rapid prototyping methods

 

Selective laser sintering (SLS)

Selective laser sintering produces models by means of a laser beam. Various plastic-like powdery materials such as alumides or polyamides are fused together.

Stereolithography (SLA)

During this rapid prototyping process, the workpiece is lowered into a liquid photopolymer. After this a laser moves over the starting material step by step until the desired shape is achieved. SLA is an extremely precise process that allows you to create smooth surfaces.

Fused filament fabrication (FFF)

This rapid prototyping process is a melt-coating process. Objects are produced layer by layer from a meltable plastic. It is usually worked with the plastic ABS, which is very durable and robust.

Selective laser melting (SLM)

Selective laser melting is a rapid prototyping process which is used to make metal parts. The components are subsequently fabricated in the layering process.

3D printing (3DP)

In 3D printing, the model is made of a gypsum-like powder and applied layer by layer. The layers adhere to each other and fuse together by means of a binder. 3D printing is a very cost-effective and fast process.

 

Different kinds of rapid prototypes

 

 

Design prototype

A design prototype is fabricated to test aesthetic and ergonomic features.

Concept model prototype

This prototype provides a general outlook of an idea or a specific concept.

Functional prototype

A functional prototype has the most important functional properties that the later end product should have. Based on the functional prototype, mechanical, electrical, acoustic or thermal functions can be tested and verified.

Scale model prototype

This type of prototype is an accurate scale model that is used for initial assembly and function tests. Its purpose is testing and checking the accuracy of fit and tolerances.

Rapid Prototyping


Rapid Prototyping

Was ist Rapid Prototyping?

Rapid Prototyping (RP) bezeichnet verschiedene Verfahren zur schnellen Herstellung von Prototypen. Der „schnelle Modellbau“ ermöglicht es in nur kurzer Zeit physische Modelle zu fertigen. Basis für die Modelle sind dreidimensionale CAD (Computer Aided Design) Daten. Rapid Prototyping wird in unterschiedlichsten Branchen eingesetzt. Entweder, um den Produktentwicklungsprozess zu beschleunigen, vorläufige Ergebnisse zu testen oder erste Ideen zu visualisieren. Außerdem bietet Rapid Prototyping mehr Sicherheit für den Übergang in die Serienfertigung.

Vorteile von Rapid Prototyping

  • Schnelle Fertigung
  • Effektive Präsentation von Ideen
  • Mehr Flexibilität und schnellere Anpassbarkeit
  • Kosten- und Zeitersparnis in der Produktentwicklung
  • Sofortiges funktionelles und formales Testen der Funktionen
  • Schnelleres Verarbeiten und Umsetzen von Verbesserungen
  • Verkürzung der Produktentwicklungs- und Markteinführungszeit

Wie funktioniert Rapid Prototyping

Es gibt mehrere Verfahren für das Rapid Prototyping. Die schnellste und kostengünstigste Prototypenherstellung ermöglicht der 3D Druck. Es handelt sich hier um eine additive Fertigungstechnologie. Das Bauteil wird durch schichtweises Auftragen des Werkstoffs gefertigt.

Grundlage für die Prototypenfertigung ist eine CAD (Computer Aided Design) oder 3D Programmiersoftware. Die Daten werden vom 3D Drucker ausgelesen und in das Bauteil überführt. So werden Schichten von Flüssig- Pulver oder Plattenmaterial übereinandergelegt und das Modell Schicht für Schicht aufgebaut. Die Schichten werden automatisch miteinander verbunden, der Prototyp entsteht.

Dieser schnelle Vorgang führt zu einer enormen Kosten- und Zeitersparnis im gesamten Fertigungsprozess. Prototypen sind also schnell verfügbar. Je nach Größe und Anzahl der Modelle kann die Zeit variieren, doch in der Regel können Prototypen in nur wenigen Stunden hergestellt werden. Mit Hilfe dieses Verfahrens können aber nicht nur Prototypen hergestellt werden, in gewissen Branchen werden so auch Bauteile für die Serienproduktion oder Ersatzteile gefertigt.

Bekannte Rapid Prototyping Verfahren

Selektives Lasersintern (SLS)

Beim Selektiven Lasersintern erfolgt die Herstellung der Modelle mit Hilfe eines Laserstrahls. Dabei werden verschiedene kunststoffähnliche pulverförmige Materialien wie Alumide oder Polyamide miteinander verschmolzen.

Stereolithografie (SLA)

Beim diesem Rapid Prototyping Verfahren wird das Werkstück in ein flüssiges Photopolymer abgesenkt. Danach fährt ein Laser Schritt für Schritt über den Ausgangstoff, bis die gewünschte Form erreicht ist. SLA ist ein äußerst präzises Verfahren mit dem man glatte Oberflächen erzeugen kann.

Fused Filament Fabrication (FFF)

Dieses Rapid Prototyping Verfahren ist ein Schmelzschichtungsverfahren. Hier wird das Objekt schichtweise aus einem schmelzfähigen Kunststoff hergestellt. Dabei wird meist mit dem Kunststoff ABS gearbeitet, der sehr beständig und robust ist.

Selektives Laserschmelzen (SLM)

Das Selektive Laserschmelzen ist ein Rapid Prototyping Verfahren welches für die Fertigung von Teilen aus Metall verwendet wird. Die Bauteile werden wiederum im Schichtverfahren aufgebaut.

3D Printing (3DP)

Beim 3D Printing wird das Modell aus einem gipsartigem Pulver gefertigt und Sicht für Sicht aufgetragen. Durch einen Binder haften die Schichten aneinander und verschmelzen miteinander. 3D Druck ist ein sehr kostengünstiges und besonders schnelles Verfahren.

Unterschiedliche Ausprägungen von Rapid Prototypen

Designprototyp

Ein Designprototyp wird gefertigt, damit man ästhetische und ergonomische Merkmale vorerst testen kann.

Konzeptprototyp

Der Prototyp dient dazu, um eine Idee oder ein bestimmtes Konzept zu veranschaulichen.

Funktionsprototyp

Ein Funktionsprototyp hat bereits die wichtigsten funktionalen Eigenschaften die auch das spätere Endprodukt aufweisen soll. Anhand des Funktionsprototyps können mechanische, elektrisch, akustische oder thermische Funktionen getestet und überprüft werden.

Geometrischer Prototyp

Diese Art von Prototyp ist ein maßgenaues Modell, welches für erste Montage- und Gebrauchsversuche verwendet wird. Dies dient zum Testen und Kontrollieren der Passgenauigkeit und der Toleranzen.